Tel: 01623 707017
We've Got Mansfield, Ashfield & Sherwood Covered


Sporting success for John Sankey at last!

Posted onPosted on 16th Mar

Being one of the Armchair Club founders, John Sankey estate agents has entered a team to challenge for the sports support group’s annual Question Of Sport Quiz for many years.

John Sankey’s support was finally rewarded at the One Call Stadium 1861 Suite when his team lifted the 2019 trophy.

The Armchair Club is a voluntary organisation, steered by a small group of local business and professional people, with the sole focus on raising funds to invest in local sports people and sports clubs.

This year’s event, compered by the Armchair Club’s Bill Taylor, was another close competition involving local companies.

As the final round started three teams were in close contention — Stopford Associates, Alfreton Insurance and the Sankey team.

The estate agent just edged it from Stopfords in second, with Alfreton Insurance third.

John Sankey team captain Stephen Rowbottom told the News Journal: “We are all thrilled to have won, especially for John, who has been an amazing supporter of this great event for more years than we care to remember! It has been a long time coming, but we will enjoy every minute of the next 12 months whilst we celebrate having the trophy.”

More than £3,000 was raised, thanks to the generosity of all the local companies represented and their team members, including the top three placed teams as well as HW Martin, NatWest, News Journal, Tybro Ltd, Adkin Sinclair, Hopkins Solicitors, Linney Group, Edwinstowe Plumbing, Collins Wealth Management, Mansfield Town FC, SP Fabrications and the Bill Taylor team.

Anyone interested in finding out more about the work of the Armchair Club, or who feels they have a local sports person or club worthy of a grant, should contact the club at

ABOVE: Mansfield estate agent John Sankey team captain Stephen Rowbottom, third left, with members of his Armchair Club 2019 Question Of Sport Quiz winning team, from left, Richard Burns, Adrian Yeomans, Matt Rowbottom, Nick Gibbons, Natalie Rowbottom and Tom Slack.