Tel: 01623 707017
We've Got Mansfield, Ashfield & Sherwood Covered


Finalists announced for sports awards

Posted onPosted on 20th Jan
Finalists announced for sports awards

Nottinghamshire County Council and Sport Nottinghamshire have announced the shortlists for the annual Nottinghamshire Sports Awards.

Nottinghamshire County Council and Sport Nottinghamshire have spent recent months seeking nominations for the 23rd annual Sports Awards. The awards are a celebration of grassroots and professional sports.

The awards will be presented during a ceremony on Wednesday 4 February at the Nottingham Conference Centre, in Burton Street, Nottingham, starting at 7pm. More than 400 people enjoyed last year’s Nottinghamshire Sports Awards.

Nottinghamshire County Council Culture Committee chairman Councillor John Knight said: “Our annual awards are always a memorable night and we are very much looking forward to recognising the achievements of so many sports people at grassroots, voluntary and professional levels and to celebrating their successes in a wide range of sports.”

Simon Starr, Director of Sport Nottinghamshire said: “The Nottinghamshire Sports Awards is a key date in the county’s sporting calendar. It’s vital that we recognise and showcase the dedication and commitment of those in our communities who devote their lives to helping our athletes and teams enjoy and succeed in their sport. Celebrating the achievements of our talented sports people is equally important.”

There are plenty of high achievers in both junior and senior age groups and all areas of the county are well represented on the finalists list.


Young Coach of the Year
Ashley Hewitt
Benjamin Wilson
Daniel Edson
Rebecca Schinagl
Rosie Needham

Community Coach of the Year
Ruth Pickthorn
Bob Truswell and Pete Haskell
Charlotte Attwood
Ian Clews
Mark Moore

Performance Coach of the Year
Claire Starkey
Dez Atkins
Glenn Smith
Julian Leivars
Ricardo Vasconcelos

Team of the Year
Beeston Hockey Club
Gedling Inn Football Club
Nottingham Handball Club
Nottingham Panthers
Nottinghamshire T20 Ladies

Club of the Year
Beeston Road Club
Mansfield Rugby Club
Norwood Park Golf Centre
Rushcliffe Swimming Club
West Bridgford Rugby Club

Project of the Year
Active Ashfield Stop Bullying in Sport
Mansfield Primary School Sport Partnership
Ping! Nottingham
Rushcliffe Junior Parkrun

Junior Volunteer of the Year
Claudia Southwell
Jake Fisher
Lucy Palfreyman
Matthew Hall
Samuel Stringfellow

Volunteer of the Year
Bob Truswell
Jason Ramage
John Hope
Paul Burns
Richard Weatherer

Junior Sportsperson of the Year
Anna Thornton
Ellie Downie
Henry Pak Fey Chiu
Olivia Whitelaw
Rosie Rudin

Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
Ben Foulston
Holly Lounds
Joseph Seage
Megan McFarlane
Sophie Hahn

Junior Team of the Year
Ashfield RUFC U15’s Girls
Beeston Hockey Club Indoor U18’s Girls
Faisan Shah and James Mawbey
Nottinghamshire FA Girls U16’s Squad
NSSA Icicles

Sporting School of the Year
Bilborough 6th Form College
Nottingham Girls’ High School
Nottingham High School
The Fernwood School
The Samworth Church Academy

Roll of Honour
Paul Adcock
Peter Worth
Richard Pickering

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
Grace Clough
Natalie Blake
Oliver Hynd
Richard Whitehead
Sophie Wells

Sportsperson of the Year
Becky Downie
Chris Adcock
Elise Christie
Isobel Pooley
Stephen Lisgo

Winners at last year’s awards ceremony included Elise Christie (Sportsperson of the Year), Tom Hibberd (Community Coach of the Year) and Nottinghamshire Leadership Academy Network (Project of the Year).

On the night of the awards final on February 4, the names of three individuals will be added to the prestigious Roll of Honour book – acknowledging outstanding contributions make to Nottinghamshire Sport, and an Achievement of the Year award will also be announced. For more details on the awards visit: and