Tel: 01623 707017
We've Got Mansfield, Ashfield & Sherwood Covered


Queen’s Birthday Honours event

Posted onPosted on 15th Oct
Queen’s Birthday Honours event

Some of Nottinghamshire’s most talented and committed individuals gathered at County Hall last week for a reception honouring recipients of HM The Queen’s Birthday Honours.

In total, 12 Nottinghamshire residents were recognised in this year’s list, honouring those that have made outstanding contributions in their fields, from education and health, to families and heritage.

The chairman of Nottinghamshire County Council, Councillor Pauline Allan, was joined by HM Lord Lieutenant of Nottinghamshire, Sir John Peace, for the reception.

Councillor Allan said, “It was my absolute privilege to host so many great Nottinghamshire people who have been honoured for the contribution they make to our local communities

“It was truly humbling to hear about why they had received their honours – in particular the work they do to improve the lives of other people from across the county and beyond.

“To have 12 Nottinghamshire residents honoured this year just goes to show the wealth of talent, endeavour and commitment there is in our great county.”

Birthday honours recipients in attendance at the event were:
•Sir Barry Stuart Day, Chief Executive of the Greenwood Dale Foundation Trust and Greenwood Academies Trust (services to education)
•Professor Sir David Greenaway, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Nottingham (services to higher education)
•Mrs Liese Jane Bowers-Straw MBE, Border Officer, Border Force, Home Office (services to equality and diversity)
•Mrs Janet Perrett MBE, Deputy Director of the Careers and Employability Service, University of Nottingham (services to higher education)
•John Gregory Cowley OBE (services to the community in Nottinghamshire)
•Ms Veronica Fairley OBE, Deputy Manager, Family Intervention Project, Nottingham (for services to children and families)
•Mrs Freda Marion Wallwork OBE (services to heritage in the National Trust, East Midlands and in Beeston and District Civic Society)
•Michael John Wells OBE, Reception Officer, Nottingham Trent University (services to higher education).

Those unable to attend were:
•Dr Steve Kell OBE, Chair of NHS Bassetlaw Clinical Commissioning Group (services to primary care)
•Miss Jennifer Gunn MBE, Vice-Captain of England Women’s Cricket Team (services to cricket)
•Angela Sandra Foley OBE, General Manager, Bright Beginnings Childcare Centre, University of Leeds (services to childcare provision in higher education)
•Ivan Philip Ian Hopkins OBE, Executive Chef, Nottingham Trent University (services to higher education).

Pictured are: back, Sir John Peace, Sir Barry Day, Jan Perrett, John Gregory Cowley, Professor Sir David Greenaway, Michael John Wells, Councillor Pauline Allan.
Front, Liese Jane Bowers-Straw, Veronica Fairley, Freda Marion Wallwork.