Tel: 01623 707017
We've Got Mansfield, Ashfield & Sherwood Covered


Praise for young writers

Posted onPosted on 4th Apr
Praise for young writers

The writing skills of Mansfield’s young people were praised at the second WrittenByMe short story competition, created by the Mansfield Learning Partnership and Mansfield 2020 to promote literacy among young people.

More than 100 people saw students aged 11-18 have excerpts from their stories read, and the winners of the competition announced at Mansfield Library.

The finalists had to go through heats at their schools to reach the final. More than 20 students from All Saints’ RC School, Brunts Academy, Garibaldi College, Manor Academy, Meden School and Vision West Nottinghamshire College attended.

All the students received a goodie bag, donated by Mansfield BID, and a certificate. Category winners received a trophy and a £400 donation towards a literacy project for their schools.

Judge Thomas Legandre, lecturer in creative writing at the University of Nottingham, said: “The event has been fantastic. I’ve been impressed by the creativity and imagination of the young people.

“It’s great to have something like the Mansfield Learning Partnership, bringing together all the schools to create something that is greater than the sum of its parts.”

Beth Shaw, of Meden School, winner of the year 12-13 category, said: ‘This has just been the best. I’ve always written stories but to have them judged and for someone to say that they are good is a great feeling.

“It’s given me the confidence to keep writing and I would definitely recommend that other people enter next year.”

Finalists were:

Years 7-9 category sponsored by B Jephson – Charlie Marshall, Isabella Lukic, Anika Uddin, Paige Parkin, Rachael Dixon, Emily Allden, Charlotte Cropper and James Annison. The winning story was My Anchor by Caitlin Crutchley from All Saints’..

Years 10-11 sponsored by Vision West Nottinghamshire College – Georgina James, Tom Slone, Amy Newton, Georgia Lindsley, Amber Kerr, Robyn Aldred-Hill and Tom Maddison. The winning story was A Power Too Great by Jacob Evans from Brunts Academy.

Years 12-13 sponsored by Stopford Associates – Ellie Wilson, Jodie Price, Hannah Davies and Joanne Chapman. The winning story was You D4 by Beth Shaw from Meden School.

Pictured is Years 7-9 winner Caitlin Crutchley received her award from Kath Jephson.