Tel: 01623 707017
We've Got Mansfield & Ashfield Covered

Menu

Orienteering fun returns to parks

Posted onPosted on 12th Jul

The free family-friendly navigation challenge, Xplorer, is being expanded and extended to three parks this summer.

The popular outdoor orienteering sessions, run by Mansfield District Council, will be held in Titchfield Park and Forest Road Park (Spider Park), Mansfield, and Yeoman Hill Park, Mansfield Woodhouse, throughout the school summer break.

They are part of the council’s wider mission to encourage people in the district to enjoy the district’s parks and get more active.

Xplorer is aimed at primary and pre-school children but older children and adults can join in, too. Using a simple map, participants have to find markers located around the park and identify what is pictured and learn a fun fact.

Older children can compete against friends and family to see who can complete the course in the quickest time while younger children will enjoy the excitement of finding the markers. Everyone who completes a course receives a certificate.

Although Xplorer is based on the adventure sport of orienteering and is being run in conjunction with British Orienteering, no experience of map reading is necessary.

Cllr Andrew Tristram, Portfolio Holder for the Environment, said: “These events have proved so popular in the past – with hundreds taking part – that we have decided to run more of them and extend them from two parks to three.

“They are a great opportunity for families to get out into the fresh air and have free-of-charge fun together during the long school holidays.”

Titchfield Park sessions
Tuesday 24 July, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Friday 27 July, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Tuesday 31 July, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Friday 3 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Tuesday 7 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Friday 10 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Tuesday 14 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Friday 17 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Tuesday 21 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Friday 24 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm

Forest Road Park sessions

Tuesday 24 July, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Wednesday 25 July, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Tuesday 31 July, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Wednesday 1 August, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Tuesday 7August, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Wednesday 8 August, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Tuesday 14 August, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Wednesday 15 August, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Tuesday 21 August, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Wednesday 22 August, 1.30pm to 3.30pm

Yeoman Hill Park sessions

Monday 23 July, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Wednesday 25 July, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Monday 30 July, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Wednesday 1 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Monday 6 August, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Wednesday 8 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Monday 13 August, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Wednesday 15 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm
Monday 20 August, 1.30pm to 3.30pm
Wednesday 22 August, 10.30am to 12.30pm

Comments